Start coding directly with Bukkit/spigot or normal programming?

• Welcome to skUnity!

Welcome to skUnity! This is a forum where members of the Skript community can communicate and interact. Skript Resource Creators can post their Resources for all to see and use.

If you haven't done so already, feel free to join our official Discord server to expand your level of interaction with the comminuty!

Now, what are you waiting for? Join the community now!

Should you learn programming before working with the Spigot/Bukkit and or Sponge Api?

• Total voters

Liz3

Addon Developer
Jan 25, 2017
Berlin, Germany
21xayah.com
Hey Guys, this is a term i wanted to ask a long time ago and im not sure if i will only ask it here in the skUnity Forum, but lets get started:

Im right know a 17 Years old junior dev working full time, mostly in web languages like javascript(ts),php, html etc....
I made the SkriptIDE two years go, dead project(hint: only at the moment), thats why i am a Addon dev on the Discord btw, i want Addon Dev here too @BaeFell :emoji_grinning:

If we spin back to my beginnings though, i started programming with the Bukkit API, without even knowing what programming actually is, i was copying Tutorials on Youtube line by line, i did not even know what a curly brace is.
Of course after some weeks i knew how to start a plugin, with a plugin.yml, extends JavaPlugin etc..
But i actually learned coding from the day, on which i asked a friend how to create a Window(Swing) in Java.
I was already coding longer than a half year for sure, before i learned what a Class or inheritance is and all the other stuff.

My image about coding only became complete when i started programming in php and javascript and understood the difference between, dynamic and typed Languages and the difference between object oriented and procedural programming.

Today my favorites languages are Kotlin, c++ and Typescript(Javascript preprocessor).